About Narberth Castle
A rectangular castle with towers on each corner but, unfortunately, not much remains today. The most fascinating thing about Narberth Castle is the legends that are attached to it.
Closed to the public, but viewable from the roadside.
- The castle's exact origin lies back in the mists of time but it is believed the site may once have been occupied by a palace spoken of in the Mabinogion, a collection of ancient legends and myths.
- It was supposedly the home of Pwyll, Prince of Dyfed, whose adventures make up one of the four branches of the book.
- The first recorded Norman castle is mentioned in 1116.
- The current stone structure was raised by Andrew Perrot in the 13th century.
- Thomas Carrewe was rewarded with the lordship in 1404, after defending the Castle during the Glyndwr rebellion. It was forfeited by Sir Edmund Mortimer, when he made common cause with Glyndwr after his capture in June of that year.
- By courtesy of Henry V, the lordship of Narberth reverted to Edmund Mortimer but he died childless in 1425.
- Narberth then reverted to royal possession.
- The Castle ruins were renovated and opened to the public in 2006.
- Not much remains apart from the remnants of two towers, a vaulted cellar and pantry.
- The castle grounds are now pleasantly laid to grass, which makes it a good picnic spot.
Public toilets and interesting craft shops, galleries and cafes in the town.
Open from December to December.