Bosherston is a tiny village just 5 miles south of Pembroke but it's the epicentre of the Pembrokeshire climbing scene.
Angle is on the route of the Coastal Cruiser, service number 388 and links the Castlemartin peninsula villages to Pembroke, which also have a railway station.
What's in Bosherston?
The limestone cliffs around Bosherston make this tiny hamlet a climbing mecca and are criss-crossed by up to a thousand hard climbing routes including some of the most taxing routes in the UK. There are easier routes too but it's places like Huntsman's Leap near St Govans Chapel that epitomise the Pembrokeshire climbing reputation.
Bosherston Lakes are well known for their beautiful setting. They occupy a series of flooded limestone valleys that were once the picturesque gardens of Stackpole House, the grand country seat of The Cawdor Family.
From the small car park next to the church in Bosherston a footpath leads to the first lake and an enticing causeway takes you across to the far side. The path then meanders round the lake, over another causeway and a bridge to bring you, unexpectedly, to a fabulous beach at Broad Haven South.
St Govan's chapel is another fascinating place to visit. Tucked into a cleft in the cliffs, it is one of the most picturesque sixth century hermit's chapels in Britain. It is named after the hermit and saint who lived there.
Food and Drink
There is a pub, the St Govan’s Country Inn and a tea room in Bosherston. Ye Olde Worlde Cafe has been serving tea on their front lawn since the 1920’s. ‘Auntie Vi’ as she affectionately known is still helping out at 92 years of age. It's a Pembrokeshire 'must'do.
There are several small camp sites and touring caravan sites in Bosherston or at nearby St Petrox. There are some quality B&Bs in the vicinity and hotels in nearby Pembroke. Self catering cottages can be found all across the Castlemartin peninsula, including some cottages in Bosherston itself.
The History of Bosherston
Apart from farmers, agricultural workers and coastguards, those living in the village in 1851 included quarrymen, a school mistress, a clergyman, a groom, a carpenter and a laundress. A quite self-sufficient village!
In 1938, nearly one quarter of the parish, to the west, was bought to form part of the R.A.C. range for the War Department, further land was acquired to the south of the village in 1940. Today this land now forms Castlemartin Tank Range.