What's in Martletwy, Landshipping and Lawrenny?
Lawrenny is a quaint little village to the south west of Martletwy but the most interesting place to head for is Lawrenny Quay, an idyllic spot alongside the estuary.
A good circular walk along the river bank from here and back through the village takes you through the oldest native oak woodlands in Britain and up past Garron estuary. The well worn path through these stunning ancient hanging oaks is part of the Landsker Borderlands trail and is easy to follow.
Lawrenny Quay has two pontoons making it a great place to launch your kayak or canoe and explore the Daugleddau waterway.
In complete contrast to these rural backwaters is Oakwood Theme Park, Wales' only Theme Park. It's located alongside the A4075, a few miles north east of Martletwy. Numerous exciting rides are available in this attraction, built in a pretty woodland setting.
Close to Bluestone is The Blue Lagoon Water Park. It has flumes, a lazy river and a wave machine.
Food and drink
Martletwy is central to this area and is most notable for its vineyard: Cwm Deri Vineyard. They produce a range of wines and liqueurs and have a conservatory restaurant as well serving meals at lunchtime and in the evenings
Lawrenny Arms, also at Lawrenny Quay is open all year and serves food. The pontoon at Lawrenny is conveniently attached to the front of the pub. Quayside Tearoom is a smart, award winning, café at Lawrenny Quay. It's open from Easter to the end of September.
The village shop in Lawrenny is the only one for 7 miles and is owned by the community. It offers great provisions for all visitors, as well as selling local produce. Open 7 days a week.
There are several B&Bs and farm guesthouses around Lawrenny. There are camping sites and touring caravan sites in the vicinity plus self catering cottages. Lawrenny village has a community run hostel with all profits going back to the community.
The History of Martletwy, Landshipping and Lawrenny
In Tudor days the village was a trading place with an estimated 12 households. Many cargoes were brought by barge from Cresswell Quay and Landshipping, and re-loaded at Lawrenny.
The Cricket Club was founded in 1894/95, but cricket ceased during the First World War. The first attempt at putting the team back together was in 1918 when they travelled to Cosheston and were all out for 13!
A marine air base was established at Lawrenny Quay during the Second World War. This became the permanent home for 764 Squadron and its fleet of ‘Walrus’ seaplanes, with up to 15 planes sometimes being moored on the river between Lawrenny and Coedcanlas.